Australian Consulate-General
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin

2019 Federal Election

The 2019 Australian federal election will be held on Saturday 18 May 2019. If you are an eligible Australian citizen living overseas you can still participate but you need to be enrolled.

To enrol, check, or update your enrolment details visit The deadline for enrolling or updating your details for the federal election is 8pm, Monday 18 April (Australian time in the electorate you’re enrolled).

Early voting will begin on Monday 6 May 2019.  See below for specific voting times in Chicago.  Alternatively, you can apply for a postal vote online now at

If you are overseas and unable to vote, complete an overseas notification form and return it to the AEC. Being overseas is a valid reason for not voting.

Information in other languages can be found at


Chicago Voting Instructions

The Australian Consulate-General in Chicago will be offering in person voting for the 2019 Australian federal election from:

Monday 6 May through Friday 17 May 2019

During the hours of 9:00am – 3:00pm ONLY

Members of the public must provide photo ID in order to gain access to the Consulate. ID is not required to vote.